2016-2017 Board of Directors

Kay Oldhouser Davis, Vice Chair Paul Hilton, Director Helga Hamlin, Director

Kay Oldhouser Davis

Paul Hilton
Vice Chair

Helga Hamlin

Vern Disney, Treasurer Fred Hilley, Director Kenneth Privette, Chair
Vern Disney


Fred Hilley


Kenneth PriVette


Paul Holder, Directory Dave Wagner, Director
Paul Holder


Dave Wagner


Melinda Carr



SAFE's Supervisory Committee

 Chelsea Treboniak
 Grier Blackwelder   
William T. Anderson
Allison Van Cleef





The Supervisory Committee is responsible for the continuous independent monitoring and appraisal of all credit union financial activities on behalf of its members.  Our goal is to ensure that all of SAFE’s operations are performed with the highest degree of accuracy and integrity.

In support of this, the committee engaged an independent auditing firm, Doeren Mayhew, CPAs, to provide an opinion on the soundness and accuracy of the credit union’s financial statements, to verify balances on member account statements, to review compliance with federal regulations and GAAP pertaining to accounting practices.  The written opinion of the auditor can be found on SAFE’s website in the financial statements section; no adjustments to the financial statements were required.

In September, National Credit Union Administration examiners performed an extensive examination and made some suggestions to improve: information security program, Bank Secrecy Act (BSA) program, and a more comprehensive Business Continuity Plan.  These recommendations were acted on after the examination by the Board of Directors and Executive management.  Projects are in the works to comply with the recommendations.

Also, the Internal Audit Department’s staff, which reports directly to the Supervisory Committee, is responsible for reviewing the activities of the branches and all operations.  They assist management in the effective discharge of their responsibilities by furnishing them with analyses, appraisals, and recommendations concerning the activities reviewed.

It is the opinion of the Supervisory Committee that SAFE is financially sound and operating efficiently and effectively.  The financial statements accurately represent its financial condition, and all business activities are handled in accordance with the Board of Directors policies and government regulations.

For any concerns or comments please address your correspondence to:

Supervisory Committee
SAFE Federal Credit Union
P.O. Box 754
Sumter, South Carolina 29151-0754

Allison Van Cleef, Chairman Supervisory Committee
Ryan Dutcher, Vice President of Internal Audit

Click here to access the Supervisory Committee Charter